Vettel on pole for the Indian GP

27 Oct, 2012 10:47am

Sebastian Vettel and Mark Webber share the front row of the grid for the Indian Grand Prix, after dominating qualifying

Sebastian Vettel will start the Indian Grand Prix from pole position for the second year running, following a dominant performance in qualifying.

The championship leader made a mistake on his first lap of Q3 and was forced to return to the pits, but recovered with his second to go fastest of all. He will share the front row of the grid with his teammate, Mark Webber, for the third Red Bull front row lock-out in as many races.

Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button will start from third and fourth respectively, while Fernando Alonso could only manage fifth. He will start alongside teammate Felipe Massa, who survived a big spin at the beginning of qualifying to finish sixth fastest.

Kimi Raikkonen will start seventh for Lotus, while Sergio Perez, Pastor Maldonado and Nico Rosberg complete the top 10.

Romain Grosjean will start from 11th in the second Lotus, ahead of Nico Hulkenberg and Bruno Senna, who had looked fast but was knocked out of the top 10 in the closing stages of Q2. Michael Schumacher is in 14th, ahead of Daniel Ricciardo and Paul di Resta.

Towards back of the grid, Vitaly Petrov managed to outqualify teammate Heikki Kovalainen, who beached his Caterham in the gravel at the end of the first qualifying session. Timo Glock will start 21st, ahead of the HRT's of Pedro de la Rosa and Narain Karthikeyan, who qualified with just a hundredth of a second between them. Rookie Charles Pic will start last.

All drivers met the 107 per cent requirements, which means all 24 cars will start the race.

2012 Indian Grand Prix grid

Position Driver Team Time
1 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Racing-Renault 1'25.283
2 Mark Webber Red Bull Racing-Renault 1'25.327
3 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1'25.544
4 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1'25.659
5 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1'25.773
6 Felipe Massa Ferrari 1'25.857
7 Kimi Raikkonen Lotus-Renault 1'26.236
8 Sergio Perez Sauber-Ferrari 1'26.360
9 Pastor Maldonado Williams-Renault 1'26.360
10 Nico Rosberg Mercedes No time
11 Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault 1'26.136
12 Nico Hulkenberg Force India-Mercedes 1'26.241
13 Bruno Senna Williams-Renault 1'26.331
14 Michael Schumacher Mercedes 1'26.574
15 Daniel Ricciardo STR-Ferrari 1'26.777
16 Paul di Resta Force India-Mercedes 1'26.989
17 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 1'27.219
18 Jean-Eric Vergne STR-Ferrari 1'27.525
19 Vitaly Petrov Caterham-Renault 1'28.756
20 Heikki Kovalainen Caterham-Renault 1'29.500
21 Timo Glock Marussia-Cosworth 1'29.613
22 Pedro de la Rosa HRT-Cosworth 1'30.592
23 Narain Karthikeyan HRT-Cosworth 1'30.593
24 Charles Pic Marussia-Cosworth 1'30.662

107 per cent time: 1'32.071