British Grand Prix preview

British Grand Prix preview
28 Jun, 2013 3:55pm Stephen Errity

We count down to this weekend’s British GP by talking to the key figures looking to shine

Formula One hits the UK this weekend, and with eight of the 11 teams based in this country, the Silverstone circuit is home ground for many. We've spoken to some of the sport’s movers and shakers hoping to impress in their own back yard, as well as two race-winning drivers.

On the track, championship leader Sebastian Vettel comes to Silverstone on a high after dominating in Canada. He’s the clear favourite, but his team-mate Mark Webber has won here twice in three years. Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso and Lotus’ Kimi Raikkonen – second and third in the points – will hope to get on the podium to stay in touch with the German.

Things are looking less hopeful for Brits Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button. The latter’s McLaren has been off the pace, while Hamilton has been shaded by team-mate Nico Rosberg at Mercedes – so the best British result could come from in-form Scot Paul di Resta at Force India.

Read our interview with Jenson Button
Read our interview with Felipe Massa

TV coverage

Fans watching from home are spoiled for choice when it comes to British Grand Prix coverage this year. BBC1 will have qualifying in standard and high definition at 12.15pm on Saturday, with race coverage getting underway at 12.10pm on Sunday. If you’re out and about, you can also listen to the race on BBC 5 Live radio from 1pm on Sunday.

Sky Sports’ dedicated F1 channel has coverage of Friday’s practice sessions at 9.45am and 1.45pm respectively, plus a qualifying show starting at midday on Saturday and extended build-up to race coverage at 11am on Sunday.

Previous British GP winners

2012: Mark Webber, Red Bull
2011: Fernando Alonso, Ferrari
2010: Mark Webber, Red Bull
2009: Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull
2008: Lewis Hamilton, McLaren
2007: Kimi Raikkonen, Ferrari
2006: Fernando Alonso, Renault
2005: Juan Pablo Montoya, Williams
2004: Michael Schumacher, Ferrari
2003: Rubens Barrichello, Ferrari
2002: Michael Schumacher, Ferrari

For more breaking car news and reviews, subscribe to Auto Express - available as a weekly magazine and on your iPad. We'll give you 6 issues for £1 and a free gift!

Sponsored Links