Auto Express: about us

Auto Express is THE car news title, delivering the big motoring news stories, scoop pictures, drives of new cars and in-depth car reviews - FIRST!

Jaguar F-Type vs E-Type

Nothing moves in the world of cars without Auto Express knowing about it, from future models to changes in the law. Auto Express is the definitive car reviews brand, assessing more cars (over 1,100 a year) than any other motoring title.
 
Since its launch in 1988, Auto Express has employed the best, most experienced journalists and testers in the business, all dedicated to bringing you the latest news, high quality features and reviews that you can trust. We provide expert, impartial advice, while our Watchdog consumer team is also on hand to help you if you have a motoring problem.

• Download the free Auto Express iPad app  

Auto Express has sister publications across the world, including Auto Bild in Germany and Auto Plus in France. This unique relationship gives Auto Express unrivalled access to the cars and the people to bring you the biggest stories as soon as they break.
 
In magazine form, Auto Express is the UK’s biggest-selling motoring weekly by far, selling more copies every year than any other car magazine. With over 30,000 paid for weekly subscriptions, Auto Express has an unmatched army of loyal readers, who appreciate the sharp, informative and concise editorial.

• What's in this week's Auto Express magazine?  

AutoExpress.co.uk shares exactly the same aim as the magazine – to bring car enthusiasts and car buyers the very latest news and reviews. The website is one of the UK’s biggest online motoring destinations, viewed by 1.5m unique visitors every month.

Together with its sister site Carbuyer.co.uk it’s a 24/7 source for the latest car news, reviews, features, pictures, videos and interactive content. Users can stay up-to-date with all the top stories as they break through Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and our free ipad app

Auto Express’s Driver Power customer satisfaction survey has been running since 2002 and has grown to become one of the UK’s biggest and most respected surveys of its kind. The annual results give the best insight there is into what UK motorists think of their cars. Don't forget to tell us about your car here.
 
Steve Fowler, Editor-in-chief

Auto Express 1,301

Auto Express: meet the team

Steve Fowler
Auto Express editor-in-chief
E-mail: steve_fowler@dennis.co.uk
Twitter: @stevefowler

Our editor-in-chief has been with Auto Express and Carbuyer since 2011, having spent over ten years prior to that editing other major motoring titles. He’s been a motoring journalist for over 20 years, doing everything from inputting car data to road testing.

Steve can also often be found on radio and TV talking about cars and motoring issues, and was the only journalist invited to give evidence to the competition commission’s investigation into new car sales and supply.

Graham Hope
Auto Express deputy editor
E-mail: Graham_hope@dennis.co.uk

Graham has been with Auto Express since 1996 and has risen through the ranks to deputy editor, having had a spell as acting editor in 2011. He is responsible for ensuring the high standards Auto Express is renowned for are implemented across all platforms, and enjoys his varied role editing pages, reporting from motor shows, assessing cars and recruiting staff.

James Burnay
Auto Express publishing director
E-mail: James_burnay@dennis.co.uk  

James works with the various elements which make up Auto Express, these include editorial, advertising, marketing, subscriptions and production. By making sure all of these elements work in unison we are able to produce the very best ground breaking news and car reviews, while keeping the business in good shape. He has been a publisher for 13 years.

Auto Express: news

Jack Rix
Auto Express news editor
E-mail: jack_rix@dennis.co.uk 
Twitter: @Jack_rix  

Jack look after the news and first drives sections of the magazine, as well as ensuring the website is full of content. To sniff out the biggest news stories and secure exclusive first drives Jack and his team are responsible for attending motor shows and new car launches all over the world - it's a tough job but somebody has to do it!

Luke Madden
Auto Express deputy news editor
E-mail: luke_madden@dennis.co.uk 

In his four years at Auto Express, Luke has been involved in everything from writing road tests to sending out newsletters, but now he's on hand to help Jack look after the news and drives section of the magazine and website. He's currently driving a Subaru BRZ long term test car. 

Tom Phillips
Auto Express web reporter
E-mail: tom_phillips@dennis.co.uk  

Although his job title says otherwise, Tom writes news stories and new car reviews for both the Auto Express website and the magazine. He also writes features, drives a Vauxhall Adam long-term test car, and takes care of the magazine’s Sport section each week.

Paul Bond
Auto Express news reporter
E-mail: paul_bond@dennis.co.uk

Jonathan Burn
Auto Express staff writer
E-mail:  jonathan_burn@dennis.co.uk 

Johnny keeps the Auto Express website and magazine crammed with news stories. He also shares the responsibility for writing the latest car reviews along with attending launches and events all to uncover the latest goings on in the motoring world.  

Auto Express: road test

Porsche Macan vs Range Rover Evoque main

James Disdale
Auto Express road test editor
E-mail: james_disdale@dennis.co.uk

Dean Gibson
Auto Express deputy road test editor
E-mail: dean_gibson@dennis.co.uk

Owen Mildenhall
Auto Express senior road tester
E-mail: owen_mildenhall@dennis.co.uk
Twitter: @owenmildenhall

Lesley Harris
Auto Express road tester
E-mail: lesley_harris@dennis.co.uk

Auto Express: consumer


Renault dealership

Chris Ebbs
Auto Express consumer editor
E-mail: chris_ebbs@dennis.co.uk

Joe Finnerty
Auto Express consumer reporter
E-mail: joe_finnerty@dennis.co.uk
Twitter: @AE_Consumer

Joe is a reporter on the Auto Express consumer desk which looks after everything that affects motorists. He’s also responsible for answering your car questions and helping readers tackle manufacturers and dealers in the Watchdog section of the magazine.

Henry Willis
Auto Express consumer writer (products)
E-mail: henry_willis@dennis.co.uk
Twitter: @WineryHills  

Henry puts the products pages together each week with content that comprises of news and product tests. Whether looking into the industry’s newest tech, or group testing exciting products, Henry brings career experience from time spent in classic car magazines, as well as hands-on knowledge as a keen mechanic and motoring enthusiast.

Auto Express: production

Auto Express February special 2014

Stuart Morton
Auto Express chief sub-editor
E-mail: stuart_morton@dennis.co.uk

Stuart is in charge of quality control, mainly on the print version of Auto Express, and ensures all the articles across every section of the magazine are written to style and kept on deadline. He’s been part of the team for 13 years.

Stephen Errity
Auto Express production editor and app producer
E-mail: stephen_errity@dennis.co.uk
Twitter: @83ste

Stephen organises the production and sending of the finished pages of Auto Express magazine to the printers each week. He also subedits copy and puts together our free iPad app, as well as contributing motorsport news and features to the magazine.

Auto Express: digital

Mat Watson
Editor-at-large and head of motoring video
E-mail: mat_watson@dennis.co.uk
Twitter: @mat_watson

Mat Watson is a motoring journalist with more than 13 years experience writing about and reviewing cars. As head of motoring video at Dennis Publishing he is responsible for all video content on the Auto Express and CarBuyer websites and their associated YouTube channels. Mat has presented around 300 videos which combined have achieved over 60 million views.

Steve Walker
Auto Express site editor
E-mail: steve_walker@dennis.co.uk
Twitter: @steve_cars

Steve looks after the day-to-day running of the Auto Express web site. That means planning new content, growing online traffic and managing the web team. He’s been a motoring journalist and editor for 14 years contributing to a series of leading automotive titles.

Sam Naylor
Auto Express Web Producer
E-mail: sam_naylor@dennis.co.uk
Twitter: @greeneggsnam  

Sam has a variety of tasks when it comes to keeping the Auto Express website running, including making sure all our reviews are up to date and as accurate as possible. He also makes sure all of our online content is optimised and up on time, while writing new articles tailored for the web.  

Richard Ingram
Carbuyer senior web producer
E-mail: richard_ingram@dennis.co.uk
Twitter: @cutt_ings  

Richard is senior web producer for our sister site Carbuyer.co.uk. Having moved over from Auto Express in 2012, his aim is to help pragmatic car buyers get the best possible value from their new car through news, reviews, and the site’s industry-leading video content. 

William Morris
Carbuyer content editor
E-mail: william_morris@dennis.co.uk

Russell Campbell
Carbuyer content assistant
E-mail: russell_campbell@dennis.co.uk

Russell works on Auto Express' sister website, Carbuyer, filling it to bursting with fresh content, up-to-the-minute new-car deals, and advice pieces. He's also tasked with keeping the site fresh with all the motoring industry’s breaking news, and latest reviews.

Alex Yau
Carbuyer content assistant
E-mail: alex_yau@dennis.co.uk
Twitter: @justalexyau  

Alex provides regular content for the Auto Express website. His usual jobs include writing news articles, updating our YouTube videos and ensuring our reviews are accurate and up to date. Alongside these tasks, Alex also works on our sister website Carbuyer.co.uk 

Auto Express: design and pictures 

Jaguar F-Type R Coupe front drift

Darren Wilson
Auto Express art director
E-mail: darren_wilson@dennis.co.uk

Darren has been with Auto Express for nearly 20 years. He and his team are responsible for the look of the website, the magazine and also our sister site, carbuyer.co.uk. He also briefs our photographers and designs corporate logos for the brands.

George Vedmore
Auto Express senior designer
E-mail: george_vedmore@dennis.co.uk

George has been designing consumer magazines for over a decade, with over half that time spent in the automotive sector. His day-to-day role on Auto Express is the design and layout of the print magazine. This includes writing, photography and illustration briefs, flatplan and article creation and the design and management of various supplements.

Danny Brown
Auto Express designer
E-mail: danny_brown@dennis.co.uk

Danny’s design and artwork experience has seen his 14 year career include clients such as Warner Bros. EMI Music, Hasbro and Blaupunkt. His skills allow him to produce online and print branding, advertising,  illustration, creative Imaging  and creative page layouts for the Auto Express & Carbuyer brands.

Dawn Grant
Auto Express picture editor
E-mail: dawn_grant@dennis.co.uk

Dawn looks after all the photographic needs for the magazine and website and has been managing the Auto Express picture desk for 16 years.   This means organising the diary for our two staff photographers, liaising with all departments to ensure shoots happen on time and sourcing any images that are required.

Pete Gibson
Auto Express staff photographer
E-mail: pete_gibson@dennis.co.uk

Otis Clay
Auto Express junior photographer
E-mail: otis_clay@dennis.co.uk

For more breaking car news and reviews, subscribe to Auto Express - available as a weekly magazine and on your iPad. We'll give you 6 issues for £1 and a free gift!