“It’s exactly the right time for car showrooms to reinvent themselves”

Mike Rutherford made dozens of phone calls on the day car showrooms reopened, but got a mixture of positive and negative responses

I half expected car-showroom confusion and chaos on 1 June – the day sales executives dusted down the desks they’ve been unable to work from for months. But, after phoning dozens of franchised dealerships on the historic Monday in question, this prospective customer (I didn’t tell ’em I’m also a working journalist) was pleasantly surprised by the generally positive responses received. I’ve never known sales professionals to be more fired-up, friendly and accommodating.

That said, a handful couldn’t, wouldn’t, or were ‘too busy’ to pick up the phone. Almost as bad were out-of-date recorded messages. For example: “we’re closed” due to “government guidelines” that, in truth, no longer apply. Meanwhile, I was borderline offended when, at 4pm on a working Monday, I received a recorded rollicking from a leading retailer who insisted I was calling outside normal opening hours. This is how customers are lost – forever.

But my dipstick dealer of the day award went to the ‘salesman’ who answered the phone (so far, so good), before ordering me to E-mail my simple question/sales enquiries to a bloke called Ben, who may or may not get back to me. This, in the aftermath of April 2020 when new-car registrations were down 99.7 per cent year on year, followed by May when they were 89 per cent adrift! Unbelievable.

Also difficult to comprehend was that of all the sales professionals I spoke to, just one was female. But, on a more optimistic note, 80 per cent of sales execs who accepted my calls were on the case from the get-go, extremely keen and hungry (in some cases literally, I suspect) to sell me the model I wanted, not the version that would be most profitable for them. Each was cool with my withheld caller ID, plus my explanation that I wouldn’t be giving phone, E-mail and other details because I was merely making initial enquiries, not placing an order.

None of them mentioned any possible scrappage of my existing car. Good. They, like me, know that there could soon be a shortage of decent, affordable, used vehicles for sale to commuters who are seeking alternatives to our overcrowded trains and buses. Each said I’d be welcome to visit the showroom and, what’s more, that booking in advance wasn’t essential. On a related point, if a sales professional doesn’t grant you a Covid-friendly solo test drive (after leaving your car and ID as collateral), go shop elsewhere. There are precisely 6,188 main dealer sales outlets to choose from in the UK, so you’re spoilt for choice.

Car retailers have just suffered the fright of their commercial lives – the bleakest time ever for the motor trade. Sadly, the old adage that every cloud has a silver lining ain’t so. But there is some truth in the saying that what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger. I just hope this applies to the down-but-not-out franchised dealer network of Britain. As we approach the halfway point of this pandemic-stricken 2020, it’s exactly the right time for car showrooms to reinvent themselves. It’s now or never. So let’s make it now, can we?

Do you agree with Mike? Let us know your thoughts below...

Recommended

Covid-19: what it means for motorists and the car industry
Motorway
News

Covid-19: what it means for motorists and the car industry

Everything you need to know about how Covid-19 affects cars, motorists and the car industry in the UK
6 Apr 2021
'Factories are at a standstill because they can’t get the parts to finish cars'
Car manufacturing
Opinion

'Factories are at a standstill because they can’t get the parts to finish cars'

Steve Fowler points out the fresh issues facing global car manufacturing
9 Jun 2021
‘Our switch to electric will soon make driving manual cars a lost art'
Gearknob
Opinion

‘Our switch to electric will soon make driving manual cars a lost art'

Want to drive a manual car? You need to take your test in a manual car. So what happens once all driving-school cars are automatic EVs?
8 Jun 2021
May new-car registrations up 674%
Ford Fiesta
News

May new-car registrations up 674%

Another impressive year-on-year increase for new-car registrations, but not enough to bring the market back to pre-Covid levels
4 Jun 2021

Most Popular

New 2021 Volkswagen T7 Multivan replaces Caravelle
Volkswagen T7 Multivan - front
Volkswagen Caravelle

New 2021 Volkswagen T7 Multivan replaces Caravelle

The Volkswagen T7 Multivan MPV switches to the MQB platform and adds plug-in hybrid technology
10 Jun 2021
LEC launches affordable EV conversion for classic Mini
LEC MINI Electric
MINI

LEC launches affordable EV conversion for classic Mini

The conversion sees the Mini’s A-Series engine replaced with a dinky electric motor and a 20kWh battery for a range of 70 miles in the city
10 Jun 2021
New Toyota Land Cruiser 300 revealed with six-cylinder petrol and diesel power
Toyota Land Cruiser - front
Toyota Land Cruiser

New Toyota Land Cruiser 300 revealed with six-cylinder petrol and diesel power

Six-cylinder engine line-up and clever new suspension tech for the new large Toyota Land Cruiser, but it’s not destined for the UK
9 Jun 2021
New 2021 Vauxhall Astra teased for the first time
Vauxhall Astra teaser 1
Vauxhall Astra

New 2021 Vauxhall Astra teased for the first time

The new Vauxhall Astra will get electrified powertrains and a more premium image
8 Jun 2021
New Skoda Enyaq iV 2021 review
Skoda Enyaq iV 80 Sportline - front
Skoda Enyaq

New Skoda Enyaq iV 2021 review

The new Skoda Enyaq iV is the Czech firm’s first bespoke electric car and we've tested the full range on UK roads
10 Jun 2021
New 2021 Tesla Model S Plaid launched with 1,006bhp
Tesla Model S facelift - front
Tesla Model S

New 2021 Tesla Model S Plaid launched with 1,006bhp

Range-topping version of the Tesla Model S officially unveiled, with a sprint time of 0-60mph in less than two seconds
10 Jun 2021
New Genesis G80 2021 review
Genesis G80
Genesis G80

New Genesis G80 2021 review

Is the new Genesis G80 a worthy competitor in the executive saloon segment?
9 Jun 2021
New Mercedes E-Class Cabriolet 2021 review
Mercedes E 300 Cabriolet - front
Mercedes E-Class Cabriolet

New Mercedes E-Class Cabriolet 2021 review

The soft-top Mercedes E-Class Cabriolet gets the same updates as the saloon and estate variants
10 Jun 2021
‘Our switch to electric will soon make driving manual cars a lost art'
Gearknob
Opinion

‘Our switch to electric will soon make driving manual cars a lost art'

Want to drive a manual car? You need to take your test in a manual car. So what happens once all driving-school cars are automatic EVs?
8 Jun 2021
'Factories are at a standstill because they can’t get the parts to finish cars'
Car manufacturing
Opinion

'Factories are at a standstill because they can’t get the parts to finish cars'

Steve Fowler points out the fresh issues facing global car manufacturing
9 Jun 2021
New 2021 BMW X4 facelift arrives with new look inside and out
BMW X4 - front tracking
BMW X4

New 2021 BMW X4 facelift arrives with new look inside and out

The updated BMW X4 line-up gets a new look and now comes with hot petrol and diesel options
8 Jun 2021
New 2021 BMW 4 Series Gran Coupe breaks cover
BMW 4 Series Gran Coupe - front
BMW 4 Series Gran Coupe

New 2021 BMW 4 Series Gran Coupe breaks cover

The new second-generation BMW 4 Series Gran Coupe adds four-door coupe style to the 4 Series range
8 Jun 2021
Audi updates line-up for 2022 with new tech and trim features
Audi S5
Audi

Audi updates line-up for 2022 with new tech and trim features

Almost every car in Audi’s line-up has received a tweak, with major updates including Amazon Alexa integration and a Sonos stereo
11 Jun 2021
New Vauxhall Grandland SUV unveiled with fresh design and tech boost
Vauxhall Grandland - front action
Vauxhall Grandland X

New Vauxhall Grandland SUV unveiled with fresh design and tech boost

The heavily facelifted Vauxhall Grandland family SUV gets Visor design cues and plug-in hybrid power
8 Jun 2021