Hottest hatches shoot-out

UK’s hottest hatches are getting even hotter, with officially approved upgrades from Honda, VW, Ford and Renault. We rev them up...!

header

There’s a grid full of new hot hatches this winter – all with the thermostat turned up to the max! We are used to every new performance model being more extreme than its predecessor, but to boost flagging sales several companies have given their street fighters a dose of steroids.

Here we bring together four of the finest hot hatches, each with a different type of officially sanctioned modification designed to tempt you to part with your cash. Leading the pack is the amazing new Renaultsport Mégane R26.R – a no-holds-barred street-legal track machine.

Next up is Honda’s Civic Type R GT Championship White. It’s less extreme, with the main upgrade over the standard car being a limited-slip differential.

Joining it is a 256bhp Ford. While we are eagerly awaiting next year’s RS, this Focus ST provides extra bite thanks to an officially supported Mountune kit. Finally, we give one of our favourite hot hatches a fitting send-off. We will test VW’s MkVI Golf GTI in the spring, but the final Pirelli version should be the most desirable MkV yet.

These cars have different prices and talents, so our verdict won’t be made using conventional criteria. Instead, we’ll judge each on how well it moves to the next level, rating any boost in desirability and performance against price increases. So, hold on tight as we push each to the limit around the white-knuckle-ride Cadwell Park circuit in Lincolnshire.

Verdict

When choosing a winner here, we weren’t necessarily looking for the biggest thrills. Instead, we wanted the biggest increase in fun factor per pound.

That means the Golf Pirelli comes last. We don’t think the alloy wheels fitted to the special-edition model are worth the extra money, even though the additional power is most welcome.

Next up is the Ford. Its Mountune tweaks give serious performance, but they also highlight the ST’s shortcomings of low economy and poor traction. There are some clear areas for improvement for the forthcoming Focus RS.

Separating the remaining two cars was a tougher task. With its eye-catching looks and clever limited-slip differential, the Honda represents great value because the additional kit is expected to add only £1,000 to the list price.

However, it doesn’t take top spot in this test – simply because Renaultsport has built its best-ever car. The incredible Mégane has undergone a quite amazing transformation. Engineers set out to build the ultimate trackday hatchback – and they succeeded.

Most Popular

Driving test update to preserve the manual gearbox
Dacia Duster gear lever
News

Driving test update to preserve the manual gearbox

With more drivers learning in autos and electric cars, the DVSA is looking to update the driving test so people can still drive manuals in future
16 Jun 2021
New Volkswagen ID.4 GTX 2021 review
Volkswagen ID.4 GTX
Volkswagen ID.4 SUV

New Volkswagen ID.4 GTX 2021 review

VW ID.4 EV gets another electric motor and four-wheel drive in hot GTX form
21 Jun 2021
New Mercedes C-Class 2021 review
Mercedes C-Class - front
Mercedes C-Class

New Mercedes C-Class 2021 review

The new Mercedes C-Class compact exec gets S-Class-inspired tech and new suspension to challenge the BMW 3 Series
21 Jun 2021
New Volkswagen Caddy California 2021 review
Volkswagen Caddy California MPV - front
Volkswagen Caddy

New Volkswagen Caddy California 2021 review

It’s a family hauler and weekend camper all rolled into one, but is the Volkswagen Caddy California any good?
21 Jun 2021
New 2021 Peugeot 308 SW estate arrives with more space
Peugeot 308 SW - front
News

New 2021 Peugeot 308 SW estate arrives with more space

The Peugeot 308 SW joins the hatchback in the range and arrives with two plug-in hybrid options
22 Jun 2021
New Dacia Duster facelift launched with fresh styling and more tech
Dacia Duster facelift - front
Dacia Duster

New Dacia Duster facelift launched with fresh styling and more tech

The budget-conscious Dacia Duster has been updated for 2021 with some subtle design tweaks and a new eight-inch infotainment screen
22 Jun 2021
‘The 2030 combustion engine ban is just around the corner – and we’re running out of time’
opinion: charging
Opinion

‘The 2030 combustion engine ban is just around the corner – and we’re running out of time’

Andy Palmer sees electric car uptake revving-up in the UK but says targeted investment is needed to prevent a stall…
22 Jun 2021
UN report highlights ethical problems with electric cars
Electric car charging
News

UN report highlights ethical problems with electric cars

Analysis reveals lithium refining takes 65 per cent of Chilean region’s water, while 40,000 child miners dig for cobalt in DRC
14 Jun 2021
Fiat 500 vs MINI Electric vs Honda e
Fiat 500 vs Honda e vs MINI Electric
Car group tests

Fiat 500 vs MINI Electric vs Honda e

The new Fiat 500, MINI Electric and Honda e are three retro-inspired electric superminis - but which is best?
19 Jun 2021
New Audi Q4 e-tron 2021 review
Audi Q4 e-tron 2021  front
Audi Q4 e-tron

New Audi Q4 e-tron 2021 review

We get involved with the new all-electric Audi Q4 e-tron SUV on UK roads for the first time
17 Jun 2021
New Skoda Enyaq iV 2021 review
Skoda Enyaq iV 80 Sportline - front
Skoda Enyaq

New Skoda Enyaq iV 2021 review

The new Skoda Enyaq iV is the Czech firm’s first bespoke electric car and we've tested the full range on UK roads
10 Jun 2021
Exclusive: Jaguar’s luxury reinvention to start from £100k
Thierry Bollore - Jaguar I-Pace
Jaguar

Exclusive: Jaguar’s luxury reinvention to start from £100k

New boss Thierry Bollore reveals that Jaguar will be reinvented as a luxury car brand to take on Bentley, with the design of a new family already sign…
22 Jun 2021
Ineos Grenadier prototype 2022 review
Ineos Grenadier prototype
Ineos Grenadier 4x4

Ineos Grenadier prototype 2022 review

Can the Ineos Grenadier really fill the mud-splattered void left by the old Land Rover Defender? We take a first drive in a prototype to find out...
15 Jun 2021
New Nissan Qashqai 2021 review
Nissan Qashqai 2021
Nissan Qashqai

New Nissan Qashqai 2021 review

We get behind the wheel of the larger, more comfortable and higher-tech Nissan Qashqai SUV in the UK
16 Jun 2021