'Power outages do nothing to inspire confidence in would-be EV buyers'

Mike Rutherford thinks the switch to an all-electric UK car market hasn't been thought through

Finally, the Government has hit us with a few firm (for now) car-culling dates we can pencil into our diaries, before cautiously planning our futures.

The story so far: subject to confirmation by yet-to-be-elected governments in the mid to late 2020s/early 2030s, the latest proposal is that brand-new pure petrol and pure diesel cars will be on death row for a nine-year stretch from now until 31 December 2029 – the date of their execution. Bit harsh?

Therefore, from 1 January 2030, the sale of such state-of-the-art vehicles will be declared wholly illegal while, at the same time, sales of inevitably older, dirtier second-hand motors/bangers will be perfectly legal. I wonder – and then some – if all this has been properly thought through.

Additionally, there’s a plan for factory-fresh hybrids (petrol-electrics or diesel-electrics) to be killed off – some from 31 December 2029, others (the greener but not green enough ones) from 31 December 2034. 

Are these considered ‘proposals’ and ‘plans’ from the top of Government? I’m not convinced. Too often it feels like our leaders make stuff up as they bumble along in their limos, well aware that most of them will be out of power, comfortably retired or deceased (perhaps all three) within the next decade and a half, when the EV revolution is supposed to arrive proper.

Either way, the overwhelming majority of consumers purchasing new cars in the 2030s and beyond will be offered a huge and market-dominant selection of pure-electrics – and not much else. True, there will be a comparatively small number of hybrids, plus an even smaller choice of hydrogen-powered cars and other personal vehicles with alternative fuels.

But at the same time, motorists whose heads, hearts, and wallets take them down the used-car route will have far wider choices to enjoy. It’ll be a genuine case of less is more as they will, of course, be able to buy second-hand versions of all the above... plus pure-petrol, pure-diesel, or hybrid vehicles built and registered in the 2020s, 2010s or earlier.

Much as I admire today’s current and growing crop of EVs, I still wince at some of their prices. It’s claimed that by 2025 these models will, all things considered (purchase price, insurance, daily running costs, depreciation, etc), boast the same all-in costs as ICE cars. But we need proof, not predictions. Until then, consumers are right to be cautious.

More honesty regarding battery life and replacement costs is also required. As are two sets of range figures per car: first the ‘official’ one taken with a large pinch of salt, the other ‘real-world’ and more accurate, relevant, and enlightening.

I’m confident this can be achieved. Conversely, National Grid’s too-frequent power outages, plus ongoing problems with public charging points and national charging infrastructure (or lack thereof) do nothing to inspire confidence in would-be EV buyers.

Finally, while the Government can give generous financial incentives to the thousands who buy electric cars now, can it offer them to the millions urged to buy EVs in the future? Not a chance. So grab those hand-outs while you can – before they (inevitably) run out.

Check out the best electric cars to buy right now...

Recommended

'ULEZ is expanding and I suspect the Greater London area to be next'
ULEZ opinion
Opinion

'ULEZ is expanding and I suspect the Greater London area to be next'

Mike Rutherford wonders if there will be further ultra-low emission zone expansions
24 Oct 2021
'A £1,000 fine for anyone illegally protesting on the road seems fair'
Opinion protestors
Opinion

'A £1,000 fine for anyone illegally protesting on the road seems fair'

Mike Rutherford has a few suggestions on how to deal with activists who protest on the UK's road network
17 Oct 2021
'The UK just had the greatest transport crisis in living memory'
Opinion UK transport crisis
Opinion

'The UK just had the greatest transport crisis in living memory'

Mike Rutherford laments the 'disorder, chaos and anarchy' of British roads in September
10 Oct 2021
‘Blocking roads won’t solve climate change’
Opinion protest
Opinion

‘Blocking roads won’t solve climate change’

Holding up innocent commuters and emergency service vehicles won’t win anyone’s favour, says Tristan Shale-Hester
13 Sep 2021

Most Popular

New 2022 Range Rover leaks: first look at new Land Rover flagship SUV
Range Rover leak - front
Land Rover Range Rover

New 2022 Range Rover leaks: first look at new Land Rover flagship SUV

Images of what could be the next Range Rover have appeared on social media ahead of next week’s reveal
21 Oct 2021
New Kia EV6 2021 review
Kia EV6 front tracking
Kia EV6

New Kia EV6 2021 review

With a sporty drive, 300-plus miles of range and plenty of tech - could the new Kia EV6 be one of the best electric cars on sale?
19 Oct 2021
New Hyundai Ioniq 6 targeting Tesla Model 3 with 311-mile range
Hyundai Ioniq 6 - watermarked
Hyundai

New Hyundai Ioniq 6 targeting Tesla Model 3 with 311-mile range

The new Hyundai Ioniq 6 saloon will join the Ioniq 5 in the brand’s all-electric line-up and our exclusive image previews how it could look
21 Oct 2021